Album Review: BTS – You Never Walk Alone


Release Date : February 12, 2017

Tracklist :

  1. Intro: Boy Meets Evil
  2. Blood Sweat & Tears
  3. Begin
  4. Lie
  5. Stigma
  6. First Love
  7. Reflection
  8. MAMA
  9. Awake
  10. Lost
  11. BTS Cypher 4
  12. Am I Wrong
  13. 21st Century Girls
  14. 14.Two! Three! (Hoping For More Good Days)
  15. Spring Day
  16. Not Today
  17. Outro: Wings
  18. A Supplementary Story: You Never Walk Alone

Total Runtime: 01: 06 : 18

Recommended for: Those who are into a mix of dance, hip-hop and medium tempo tracks

NOT recommended for: People who are not fond of high intensity and punchy numbers

Leading boy group BTS have recaptured their smooth-sailing sound just in time for Korea’s spring season with the repackage album, You Never Walk Alone.

Fresh off a successful award season, BTS’ released four new tracks to the initial 14 on their original Wings album.

This comeback is set to only last one week but the new music is noteworthy enough to get K-pop fans hooked.


Track 15 – Spring Day


It has been a while since BTS released a soothing and soft title track. “Spring Day” is perfect to listen to during a lazy Sunday afternoon. The song begins with a mellow and echoed tune, which is headlined by the piano. Rap Monster uses a half-rap, half-sing style in the beginning of the first verse before bring his charismatic rap to the table. Jimin and V deliver a heart-fluttery end to the verse that hits all the right feels. Jungkook and V bliss the chorus in the sweetest way possible while J-Hope harmonizes with his low notes. Jungkook, Jin and J-Hope serenade their way to finish the chorus. In the second verse, Suga executes an emotional rap with a raspier tone. Jin and Jimin turn up the intensity towards the end of the verse. The highlight bridge features V tearfully singing about his best friend before Jungkook and Jimin harmonise together. The song wraps up in the ending chorus filled with gorgeous adlibs and airy falsetto moments.

Track 16 – Not Today


BTS return to the upbeat and hard-hitting sound that dominated the beginning of their full album with this track. “Not Today” kicks off with an explosive, electronic tune. Rap Monster gathers the attention by calling all the underdogs in the world. Suga turns up his swag in the first verse. Rap Monster returns with a slightly cheeky rap. Jungkook, Jimin and V’s punchy vocals up the anti before the chorus. The chorus is dominated by a badass J-Hope and playful Jungkook. V delivers a sexy rap at the start of the second verse before J-Hope returns for a few wild lines. Jin, Jimin and Jungkook increase the intensity before the second chorus. The party vibe gets even higher in the bridge where V ramps up the by yelling; “Turn it up! Burn it up!” Jungkook and Jimin once again do a one-two punch, where Jungkook sings the lower part and Jimin screeches out his high note. Jungkook continues bring energy until the last call of “Shoot!” to end the song.

Track 17 – Outro: Wings

Outro’s are often the gems of each BTS album and “Wings” is no exception. The song commences with a dramatic string and piano instrumental. Jungkook sings the line, “Take me to the sky” with a vocal run on the word “sky”. The song becomes livelier with a faster beat that makes you want to clap along. Vitamin J-Hope heightens the excitement before Rap Monster coolly delivers a bout of rap. Suga adopts a wild approach to his rap to end the verse. Jungkook calls everyone to “Take me to the sky” again before Jin and V chime in with their refreshing vocals. Jungkook returns to the chorus with a serious of vocal runs and repeats of “Fly”. The beat interestingly drops and pauses constantly thereafter where J-Hope raps along to the change. Jimin contributes his signature high-pitched adlibs in the ending chorus, which was again sung by Jungkook.

Track 18 – A Supplementary Story: You Never Walk Alone

This track uses some traditional Chinese instruments from the get go – which is vastly different to any other BTS song. A stronger beat is introduced alongside Suga’s relaxed rap. Jin blasts his way into the verse with his snappy vocals. The rap line of J-Hope, Suga and Rap Monster all work together to bring a touch of fierceness to the song. In the chorus, Jungkook and Jimin both repeat the line; “Do you like it like that?” with a catchy approach. V contributes his relatively mellow vocals. Jungkook fits in one last line before Jimin and Jin declares “I Never Walk Alone”. Suga sends the last, meaningful message of the song and album.

Overall, BTS’ new tracks provided a breath of fresh air to their award-winning “Wings” album. No song was a low light by any means however there was only one song that stood out. That is the title track “Spring Day”, which truly hits all the right feels and ticks the boxes for an addictive and relaxing track for the spring season. The fresh, Chinese-inspired start to “A Supplementary Story: You Never Walk Alone” was also impressive but it the song could have been better if the sound was maintained throughout. In conclusion, BTS have done well with their new songs, however, it failed to eclipse the original songs on the album such as “Blood, Sweat, Tears” and “Begin”.

Review overview
Summary "You Never Walk Alone" features four new tracks by popular boy group, BTS. The title track, "Spring Day" proves as a return to the group's older, medium-tempo and soothing numbers like "One Fine Day" and "Coffee". This album offers a variety of beats, where every listener can find a solid jam.
OH!Press' resident journo

Similar Articles